Proverbs 22:24-25

Don’t befriend angry people or associate with hot tempered people, or you will learn to be like them and endanger your soul.

The people you associate with have influence on you. If you associate with negative people, they will eventually bring you down. If you associate yourself with people who are happy and optimistic and live to serve God, you will more likely be like them.

I want to associate myself and surround myself with people of similar interests and believes. While so many people my age get satisfaction out of meeting people at bars or parties and such, I do not. I want to, and am really beginning to, associate and connect with people I want to be like and who share some similarities with me. While I love sports, and exercise, school, nutrition, health, etc. I also have this rediscovered desire to learn about and talk about God. Whether it be hearing how/when someone else found God, or sharing versus or songs with others and applying them to life, both now and future…I want to be with people who want to share those things with me.

As I look back at some past events, I tend to get frustrated with myself. I had people in my life who wanted to share God’s love with me and help me feel His power, but I did not so much care to associate. That is now not the case. As I have really started listening to various Christian rock music, I came across the song “Your Love” by Brandon Heath…I remember a night riding home and this song came on the radio. The person I was with clearly wanted to share this song with me (and assumingly more) but I blocked it out and had no interest. It seems like no wonder they did not want to associate with someone like that….Now, however, I want to share the same song and associate with people who want to hear it.

Leave a Reply

